
ILLINOIS EMPLOYER FACT SHEET  

 New Hire Reporting
State and federal laws require all employers to report each new and 
rehired employee. New hire reporting is the most successful means 
for locating parents, establishing orders and collecting child support.

HFS and DCSS recognize the work employers do to ensure the success 
of new hire reporting and income withholding. We appreciate their 
efforts to ensure that children get the necessary financial and medical 
support they need.

 � A company that pays wages to a person needs to report that person 
as a new hire.

 � A person who is an employee for purposes of federal income tax 
withholding from wages is also an employee for new hire reporting.

 � An employee must be reported whether hired as a full- or part-time 
employee.

 � Any employee who filled out a W-4 form must be reported.

 � An employee who leaves the company for 60 days or more must be 
reported as a new hire upon returning to the company.

 � A company that refers a person for employment and does not pay the 
person a salary does not need to file a new hire report.

 � Labor organizations and hiring halls must report their own employees 
(persons who work directly for the labor organization or hiring hall).

How to Report
Employers can submit new hire information using one of these methods:

 � Online at illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport

 � Using the New Hire Reporting form provided by the Illinois 
Department of Employment Security at www.ides.illinois.gov/
IDES%20Forms%20and%20Publications/NewHire.pdf

 �With a copy of the employee’s W-4 form, with all information 
completed legibly, including the employer information

 � In a separate listing of new employees, with the required data

Where to Report
Online: newhire.hfs.illinois.gov/NewHireWeb/EmployerResources.jsp

By mail:  Illinois New Hire Directory 
P.O. Box 19473 
Springfield, IL 62794-9473

By fax: 217.557.1947 (24-hour fax line)

By email: DES.NHire@illinois.gov

By sFTP upload: Call 888.245.1938 or 312.803.7253 for details

Important News and Updates
Registered employers can now report new 
hires online through file upload. They can 
also report employee terminations online.

Register online today.  
It could save you time and money! 

Visit illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport/Employers

For help with online registration,  
call 888.245.1938

Multi-State Employers
A multi-state employer may choose to 
send all new hire documentation to one 
state by notifying the United States 
Department of Health and Human 
Services by mail or fax to:

Secretary, U.S. Department of Health  
and Human Services, Office of Child 
Support Enforcement (OCSE) 
Multi-State Employer Registration 
P.O. Box 509 
Randallstown, MD 21133 
Fax 410.277.9325

You can also do this online at  
ocsp.acf.hhs.gov/OCSE

Questions?
Illinois Department of Healthcare 
and Family Services (HFS)
Division of Child Support Services (DCSS)
P.O. Box 641097 
Chicago, IL 60664-1097

Employer Customer Service
888.245.1938 or 312.803.7253 
Fax: 888.227.0370

For additional information visit 
illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport/Employers
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Income Withholding Notice (IWN)
Income withholding is the court or 
administratively ordered deduction of a 
specified amount from a parent’s income  
for payment of child support.

All employers must honor an Order/
Notice to Withhold Income for Child 
Support. Out-of-state Orders/Notices 
are valid throughout the country, 
including the U.S. territories.

For help with income withholding,  
employers can call 888.245.1938.

 � Employers do not have to vary their pay  
cycles to comply with the ordered frequency

 � For the employer’s convenience, the notice shows the total amount to be 
withheld per pay cycle – weekly, biweekly, semi-monthly and monthly

 � Support payments take priority over all other deductions, except federal (IRS) 
tax levies entered before the date of the underlying child support order

 � If an employee has federal, state or local tax garnishments, the employer 
should seek confirmation of this withholding priority from the tax agency

 � Employers must remit payments to the Illinois State Disbursement Unit (SDU) 
within 7 days of the date withheld from the employee’s paycheck. [SDU, P.O. 
Box 5400, Carol Stream, IL 60197-5400; Phone 877.664.5738; ilsdu.com]

National Medical Support Notice (NMSN)
The NMSN is the notice employers receive from the state child support agency 
instructing them to enroll a child or children in available dependent health coverage.

Coverage must begin at the earliest possible date following receipt of the NMSN.

 � The NMSN provides that the employee named in the Notice is liable for any  
employee contributions required under the plan for enrollment of these children

 � If there are additional premiums as a result of adding the child to the 
health plan, the employer must withhold the health premium cost from the 
employee’s earnings

 � If the employee’s dependents cannot be enrolled, the employer is  
expected to return the Employer Response Form to the issuing agency  
within 20 business days of receipt

 � If medical coverage is available through the employer, the employer should 
forward Part B to the Plan Administrator

 � The Plan Administrator is to complete the Plan Administrator Response  
Form and the Health Insurance Report and return both to the issuing agency 
within 40 business days of the original date the NMSN was sent

Priorities for Withholding
The employer may receive an NMSN with an Order/Notice to Withhold Income 
for Child Support or by itself. If the employer receives both an NMSN and an 
Order/Notice, prioritize deductions in this order:

1st Current support (if applicable)

2nd  Any health premium required by the employer (unless income is insufficient 
to pay the entire premium, in which case do not deduct for the premium)

3rd Arrearage

4th Delinquency

5th  Notice of Levy (wage garnishment other than a federal tax levy entered 
before the child support order)

Electronic Income 
Withholding (e-IWO)   

Employers can choose to stop 
getting paper IWOs and switch to 
e-IWO to perform the transactions 
electronically using a secure portal.

To learn more about e-IWO,  
call 888.245.1938

Income Withholding and 
the CCPA (Consumer Credit 
Protection Act)

The CCPA sets limits on withholding from an 
employee’s disposable income based on their 
current family situation and child support 
payment history. The CCPA protects the 
employee from having more withheld.

Although most states follow the federal limits, 
some states have enacted laws that provide 
more protection of the employee’s income.

The withholding limits set by the  
CCPA and adopted by Illinois are:

50%  if the non-custodial parent has other 
dependents and owes no arrearages  
or is less than 12 weeks in arrears

55%  if the non-custodial parent has  
other dependents and is more than  
12 weeks in arrears

60%  if the non-custodial parent has no  
other dependents and owes no arrearage 
or is less than 12 weeks in arrears

65%  if the non-custodial parent has no  
other dependents and is more than  
12 weeks in arrears

For help calculating withholding  
amounts, use the online allocation calculator 
at illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport

Division of Child Support  
Services Provides

 � Location of non-custodial parents

 � Establishment of paternity – legal 
determination of child’s father

 � Establishment or modification of child 
support orders

 � Collection of child support order payments

 � Services for non-custodial parents

To learn more, visit 
illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport

Get an application for child support 
services at illinois.gov/hfs/ChildSupport/
parents/Pages/Applications.aspx

We encourage you to make  
this information available to  
your employees.
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